• Kamery Solomon

October Reading Wrap-Up

Last month, I did something I haven't done in AGES.

I read more than one book.

I know! I can hardly believe it myself! Life has been so crazy, as we all know, with 2020 really throwing the world for a loop. I have felt so tired and worn down, not to mention unmotivated and just plain sad. It took longer than it should have, but after reading a book here and there for most of the year, October finally clicked for me.


Getting back into reading just for fun was something I REALLY needed, and the books I turned to really came through for me. So, without further ado, let's jump in!


*I'll be using affiliate links in this post. It will cost you nothing extra, but I'll make a little extra if you decide to buy any of these books.*

Girl Gone Viral,

Alisha Rai

Goodreads

Amazon


From the back cover:

In Alisha Rai's second novel in her Modern Love series, a live-tweet event goes viral for a camera-shy ex-model, shoving her into the spotlight—and into the arms of the bodyguard she’d been pining for.


OMG! Wouldn’t it be adorable if he’s her soulmate???


I don’t see any wedding rings 👀


Breaking: #CafeBae and #CuteCafeGirl went to the bathroom AT THE SAME TIME!!!


One minute, Katrina King’s enjoying an innocent conversation with a hot guy at a coffee shop; the next, a stranger has live-tweeted the entire episode with a romantic meet-cute spin and #CafeBae is the new hashtag-du-jour. The problem? Katrina craves a low-profile life, and going viral threatens the peaceful world she’s painstakingly built. Besides, #CafeBae isn’t the man she’s hungry for.


He’s got a 🍑to die for. 


With the internet on the hunt for the identity of #CuteCafeGirl, Jas Singh, bodyguard, friend, and possessor of the most beautiful eyebrows Katrina’s ever seen, comes to the rescue and whisks her away to his family’s home. Alone in a remote setting with the object of her affections? It’s a recipe for romance. But after a long dating dry spell, Katrina isn’t sure she can trust her instincts when it comes to love—even if Jas’ every look says he wants to be more than just her bodyguard…


My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This was a fun read, but I felt it moved a little slow. It's told from the perspective of both main characters, which I enjoyed, but sometimes I felt frustrated that they were being stupid and not talking about their OBVIOUS feelings for each other, haha. It had some steamy scenes, so I don't recommend for anyone under 18. (They were pretty tame scenes as far as steamy goes, but I wouldn't want my teenager reading them and getting ideas LOL)

I read this in paperback format (which I recommend HIGHLY, as the Kindle edition is only $2 cheaper. Yikes!) and it had a different blurb, which alluded to something happening in the story. The thing didn't happen till almost the end, which was also part of the reason I only gave 4 stars. I felt like the hook from the blurb wasn't present for the majority of the book. That being said, I'm glad to see they've updated it, on Goodreads at least.


Ancient Hearts,

Candace Osmond

Goodreads

Amazon


From the back cover:

Love is a weakness, even for the Gods.


Young archaeologist, Andie Godfrey must conquer her addiction and accept the opportunity to uncover the Egyptian cave where her father and boyfriend were last seen two years ago. But, the pain of the past is hard to forget when you’re thrown at its feet.


Using her father’s secret research, Andie pieces together a clandestine conspiracy, centuries old, that will shatter the world’s idea of ancient Egypt. But before she can solve her father’s cryptic puzzle, Andie’s betrayed by the leader of the expedition, and finds herself left for dead at the bottom of a pit where she accidentally activates a portal carved in stone.


Unsure whether she’s dead or thrown back in the midst of time, Andie discovers an advanced civilization unlike anything she’s ever known and is soon faced with a ruler among Gods; a man from her own past who once ruled her heart.


Fans of OUTLANDER, THE MUMMY, TOMB RAIDER, and STARGATE are going to devour the Kingdom of Sand & Stars series!

One-click Ancient Hearts and dive into the magic today!


My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Y'all know I love Candace's books, and this one was no exception. Ever since she announced she was doing an Egyptian Time Travel, I've been eagerly awaiting it!

While I really enjoyed the book, I felt it was probably more a fantasy/alternate reality book than a time travel one. There is a time travel aspect, but the Egypt Andie travels to is not the one we know historically. There's a chance the time travel aspect will become more prominent in future books, but I would say for this one specifically that if you're looking for some straight-up time travel goodness, this isn't the book for it. HOWEVER, that doesn't mean you shouldn't give it a go! I'm a sucker for alternate realities, as well as Ancient Egypt, and if I hadn't been expecting more from the time travel angle, I would have given it five stars. I'm eagerly awaiting the release of the sequel now!

Red Winter,

Annette Marie

Goodreads

Amazon


From the back cover:

Emi has spent her entire life hiding from the creatures that hunt her. The savage earth spirits are determined to kill her before she can become the living host of a goddess, so she stays hidden--until the day she saves the life of one of her hunters.


Shiro isn't the harmless fox spirit she thought he was. He's mysterious, cunning, unpredictable ... and now hers to command. He's sworn to pay his debt to her, but he doesn't know who she is. If he finds out, he'll kill her.


But she can't send him away--not yet. Her future isn't what she thought. The lies surrounding her fate have begun to unravel, and she needs answers before time runs out--answers that lie in the spirit realm. Shiro can take her there ... if she dares to trust him.


And only then will she find out how deep the gods' treachery runs.


--

Red Winter includes 10 full-page illustrations by award-winning artist Brittany Jackson.


My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Red winter was advertised to me on Facebook as "InuYasha meets Kamisama Kiss." I've no idea what Kamisama Kiss even is (in regards to anime/just a manga/etc.), but I've watched the entire InuYasha series and all the movies and I LOVE it. So, after letting my curiosity get the better of me, I went ahead and got a copy.

I am so thrilled I did! I read this book in one sitting, y'all. I stayed up till three in the morning on a school night because I didn't want to stop. (Thankfully, it ended up being a snow day LOL). I felt I could see this book in my head. It was so fresh compared to what I've been reading as well. It wasn't just the same old thing again, where I could guess everything going on. Plus, I definitely felt the InuYasha vibes and that was amazing. I've already purchased the sequel and am planning on diving in soon. I sense a possible love triangle coming in the rest of the series... and I'm not even mad *shrugs* Absolutely try this one out!